Pastoral Care

At Pewsey Vale School we expect our students to achieve highly and enjoy school within the context of a very supportive school environment. Our pastoral system underpins the success each student achieves as part of our school community. Every member of staff takes responsibility for the care and wellbeing of students within the school.

Our pastoral system has a horizontal structure with students separated into year groups for curriculum lessons as well as registration periods. Each student is a member of a tutor group where they are individually valued and supported by each other and by their form tutor.

A full list of form tutors and Key Stage leaders is shown here.

Students meet with their tutors once during the school day. Tutors have access to the academic and behaviour information for each student in their tutor group. This information is used daily to praise and reinforce behaviour expectations. Students who do well are rewarded, with students in need of extra support set agreed targets to improve. Our tutors work in partnership with parents and carers, keeping them informed and up to date. The form tutor should be the first point of contact for most questions raised by parents and carers.

We have a school nurse who visits regularly and a school counsellor, to whom students are referred when a need is identified.

House system

Each student is a member of a ‘house’, either Swanborough, Savernake or Martinsell. There are a wide range of house competitions throughout the year, culminating in Sports Day in July. These competitions allow students to build relationships across all year groups as well as develop the competencies of leadership, team work, creativity and resilience.

Prefects and Year Representatives

Students have the opportunity to represent their tutor group through elections to become a Year Representative. Year Reps take a leading role in school democracy and organising activities such as the house competitions. Students in Year 11 have the opportunity to apply for positions as Prefects, Senior Prefects, Deputy Head Boy/Girl and Head Boy/Girl.